Strawberry Cheese Cake

      One can either make a cheese cake or break it. Mind you, I’m not using ‘break it’ metaphorically here. I mean actually break. As in break it to bits and pieces.Not intentionally of coarse. You never do such things intentionally. Now when I first made a cheese cake (Plain New York cheese cake). It was quite easy to make,and looked very pretty resting in the cake mold and I just couldn’t understand exactly why we had to leave it in the fridge overnight or for six hours. So I just waited for half an hour, being an impatient cheese-cake love sick person I am. And….er, tapped the cake mold on the back to get the cake out. And whooosh…..here came out the cake. Which wasn’t beautiful. Actually you couldn’t identify it as a cheese cake. It had fallen out in pieces. Big white cheesy chunks. It was delicious but ugly. Anyway, I learnt a lesson that has made future baking en devours successful. Never(never ever) be impatient with a recipe. If you can’t follow it to the T, don’t follow it at all. Because the results just make you sad. 

photo0434

Ingredients for a mini Cheese Cake

  • 1/2 cup finely ground graham crackers/cookies/ginger snaps
  • 1 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 pot strawberry jam
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • Boiling water(for roasting pan)

How To Go About It

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wrap exterior of a  springform pan (including base) in a double layer of foil; set aside.
  2. Stir together cracker crumbs, melted butter, and 1 tbsp sugar in a medium bowl. Press crumb mixture firmly onto bottom of pan. Bake until set, about 10 minutes. Let cool in pan on a wire rack. Reduce oven temperature to 315 degrees.
  3. Put cream cheese in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; mix on medium speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes. With mixer on low speed, add remaining sugar in a slow, steady stream. Add salt and vanilla; mix until well combined. Add egg, mixing until incorporated. Pour cream cheese filling over crust.
  4. Add strawberry jam by the teaspoon on top. With a wooden skewer or toothpick, swirl jam into filling.
  5. Set cake pan inside a large, shallow roasting pan. Transfer to oven. Carefully ladle boiling water into roasting pan to reach halfway up sides of cake pan. Bake until cake is set but still slightly wobbly in center, around 30 to 35 minutes.
  6. Transfer cake pan to rack; let cake cool completely. Refrigerate, uncovered, 6 hours or more. Unmold by running a sharp knife around the edges of the mold.

Topping

  • Apply a layer of cool whip on the cheese cake
  • Make Strawberry Jam Swirls on top.

 

tasty tip:Unmolding a Heart-shaped cheese cake took a little more concentration than a round cheese cake. Round cheese cakes are the easiest kind. So if you’re not good at unmolding, I recommend a circular mold.

xxx



22 thoughts on “Strawberry Cheese Cake

  1. Oh dear me, my poor heart Ayesha! I absolutely LOVE cheesecake! The way you’re going on, I will make my poor hubby more poor by wanting to buy all the ingredients for your lovely recipes just so we can taste what it taste like but I am sure, it won’t taste as good as it looks on your blog or the way you made it, so I think I must send someone over to kidnap you and bring you to me so you can just bake for me all day long..hahahahahah

    Love the photo’s hon! You are so good at foodie photo’s! 😀 *hugs*

    Like

    • Haha…(Same here, ate 50% of it. And were my sisters berserk.P.s I added one pound to my weight and had to work out like crazy today with my JM DVD:( :P). Anyway,your hubby won’t get poor, because on this side I’m praying for his wealth. With cheesecake one always gets richer. P.S I would love to get kidnapped as long as I’m going your place(And as long as you don’t hire goons with big mustaches) 😛 🙂 🙂
      Love you infinitely ❤ ❤

      Like

      • Whahahahah Ayesha! You are one spicy gal indeed and it’s okay. As long as your JM DVD did the trick. I must get one too then. LOL!

        My hubby would be soooo glad to hear that hon but I am not going to tell him, otherwise he will come over and kidnap you himself..hahahahaha.

        Oh yes, that would be so much fun then! When you don’t bake, we can lounge by the pool and eat those yummies bakes of your. LOL!

        No goons allowed here, especially not ones with big mustaches. Hubby is the only one allowe to have a moustache and beard and he must keep it trimmed. LOL! 😀 😛

        Like

      • Hahhaaa…..I just wish I could fly over…..!! The only thing I’m afraid of in material world is goons..and crocodiles) 😛 And I have that 55 minute workout saved on my computer(So far I’ve not been able to go beyond 25 min) If you want it I think I can send it as an attachment to your email address. What Say?? 🙂 🙂 Email address needed for that…..!

        Like

      • heheh, I wish so too hon.
        Around here I only do yoga as the fibromyalgia doesn’t allow me to do strenous exercises. It’s tough getting old you know…hahahahaha. Thanks for the offer hon. You’re so sweet but I think I will leave all that hard work up to you. When you get to 50 you will know what I mean…hehehehehe

        Like

  2. I came over for a visit in thanks for your visit on my site… and now this might have been a big mistake,… I love cheese cake and it is probably too early for me to have some and this just makes me want it badly… lovely…

    Like

  3. Haha I’m sure I can never make a cheese cake so I’ll ‘break’ it 😛 You have made such a gorgeous cake yaar I wonder how can you eat that… I mean I can sit all day staring at it eating it with eyes 😉 Lovely recipe…amazing ❤

    Like

A dash of pepper will be appreciated! :*

