Basbousa: Middle Eastern Mini Cakes

           I have previously raved about how much I love middle eastern recipes. The best part about these recipes is that they don’t use many synthetic products, sauces, array of weird food colors that we’re all fond of  using in our day to day life. I first had this little arabic cake, Basbousa on my very first  flight back from Saudia Arabia many years ago. Once I knew about it, I kept seeing it time and again, and not just in Saudi Arabia but other places as well. Needless to say that I love this, since I love all things sweet and moist. I also love savory. So, I guess I love everything that goes into the mouth. Except the things toddlers tend to pick up from the floor and eat( My youngest sister is famous for having put a baby cockroach in her mouth as a toddler,she probably would have chewed it  if my mom hadn’t seen this and forced her to spit the creature out . Personally, I think this just shows her food preferences.Once a cockroach,always a cockroach)

lopk

mol

What You Need For The Cake

1 1/2 cup semolina flour

1 cup caster sugar

1 cup plain or Greek yogurt

1/2 cup finely shredded coconut

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 egg

Almonds

For Syrup

On Medium heat add 1/2 cup water and 3/4 cup sugar, let it simmer until sugar dissolves.

Add 1 tbsp rosewater and 1 tsp lemon juice to the sugar syrup

How to go about it

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.Flour and grease the baking pan.

Sift flour,baking powder and baking soda and sugar in one bowl

Whisk egg, butter,vanilla and yogurt in another

Beat all the ingredients together and fold in shredded coconut

Add the mixture to a baking pan

Sprinkle almonds on top

Set to bake.

Right after baking,add hot syrup over this.Let the cake absorb this.

After cooling cut the cake diagonally from left to right for diamond shaped mini cakes

xxx

27 thoughts on “Basbousa: Middle Eastern Mini Cakes

  1. This recipe is delectable. I will be trying this one. thanks for sharing.

    Your food blog is wonderful. Lots of great food creations here. I like your Salad Sundays. I don’t have that but I do have what I call Salads as a Main Course…which is mixed greens, sometimes some fruit and always chicken breast.

    Your invited to take a look: http://splendidrecipes.wordpress.com/category/salads-as-a-main-course/

    Mean time I look forward to more from Miss Spicy Hat N’ Sugar Soaks.

    Regards,
    Randy

    Like

  2. Whahahahahah Ayesha! You always make me laugh. I am sure your sister enjoys your delicious food as well and is glad she doesn’t have to eat cockroaches…LOL!
    Great recipe and one day I will try it for sure. Love the photo’s. You are the queen of foodie photo’s indeed! Thanks for sharing hon. *big hugs*

    Like

A dash of pepper will be appreciated! :*