Falafel- Middle Eastern Food

       Falafel is one of my very first memories of Saudi Arabia. And even now whenever I go there, I still have Falafel every other day. Sometimes on its on and on the other times in a Falafel Sandwich. The best part about it is the crunchy exterior and the comparatively soft interior( errr…….I’m not sounding like a foodie here. Rather like some interior designer describing a house). I’m fascinated by middle eastern recipes. And have learnt how to make hummus, falafel,babousa,mutabbaq etc, just by observing their kitchen counter action over many years. Anyway, just writing about is it bringing about nostalgia. I wish I could fly over there right now, in the middle of a very busy year.

photo2851

Ingredients(For 15 falafel)

  • 1 1/2  cup chickpeas(After having soaked overnight)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic 
  • 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 1  tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper
  • Vegetable oil for frying

How to go about it

  • Put all the ingredients in a food processor and process them. However, do not over process.
  • Make balls (size as per desire) of the processed meal.
  • Deep fry in a wok/pan till golden brown.(On Medium heat).
  • Serve with  whipped yogurt or mint-coriander chutney. Or in a Falafel Sandwich.

photo0381

photo0383

photo2835

photo2848

xxx

28 thoughts on “Falafel- Middle Eastern Food

  1. Haye haye Ayesha another gorgeous and mouth watering recipe and I am reading it at this time of night when I can’t find anything to eat 😦 Bohat zalim ho larki 😛 Loved this recipe though I’ve never eaten these…. I guess they are not available in local restaurants ?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Falafel Fatoush | Miss Spicy Hat N' Sugar Socks

  3. Pingback: Falafel Fatoush | Ayesha Jamal

A dash of pepper will be appreciated! :*